Blue Dwarfs

As I was wandering around the garden this morning I really took notice of my blue dwarfs. No, I’m not referring to the “little People” that live in my garden; I’m talking about a great group of dwarf Colorado Blue Spruce. Most everyone is familiar with the full size blue spruce trees (Picea pungens). There are also some great selected cultivars of the full size trees that were chosen for their reliable blue color, form, growth habit or other unique characteristics. Not as many of us are aware that there are some fantastic dwarf conifers with that same wonderful blue color.

Picea pungens 'St. Mary's Broom'

Picea pungens ‘St. Mary’s Broom’is one of those very special dwarf blue spruce trees. Really more of a mounding shrub than a tree, ‘St. Mary’s Broom’ will only grow a few inches each year. With such great blue color, this little mound really stands out when the annual and perennial flowers have long gone for the season and the autumn foliage show has ended. That’s one reason why I love conifers so much; they are perfect plants for year-round color. ‘St. Mary’s Broom’ is such a slow grower, it’s unlikely that it will ever outgrow its space in the garden.

Other favorite dwarf conifers with great blue color are:
Picea pungens ‘Lundeby’s Dwarf’
Picea pungens ‘Montgomery’
Picea pungens ‘Sester Dwarf’

Thanks to my friends at Iseli Nursery for the photo links.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

2 thoughts on “Blue Dwarfs

  1. Dear Ed,
    Just found your website, and as an old conifer lover, and one of the oldest members of the Conifer Society (1984), I wonder if you have a list of miniature blues.
    Dwarfs, I have learned, can grow quite large — witness Montgomery, that have grown over 25 feet for me, so far.
    So, if you have a list of miniature blue-colored conifers, I would appreciate it.
    By the way, my friend, John Jason Vrablic, has a wonderful web-site based on his garden. His garden is the best, in my opinion. None better. The website is http://www.rossfordgarden.com. He lives a short distance from me in Rossford, Ohio, and has had conifer visitors from Europe this past summer. But, as a member of the conifer society, you may have heard of John.

    Bill Rokicki

    Like

Leave a Reply

