Easily distracted

I climbed out of bed this morning and began my regular routine when suddenly it hit me, it’s the middle of October! I know they say time goes faster as you grow older, but at this rate the years will fly by at the speed of months and I’ll be 90 before I know it! As I shook the sleep out of my foggy skull, I also realized that the joys of autumn are upon us.

There is something very special about autumn. I’m not sure if it is the crisp cool air, the scent of apple cider and wood stove smoke or the sight of pumpkins and scarecrows and witches, oh my! Whatever it is, I really love autumn.

Wait a minute – I know what it is – it’s the intense color of fall foliage!

Acer shirasawanum Aureum in the autumn garden
Acer shirasawanum ‘Aureum’ in the autumn garden

Today, I need to share with you a very special small tree called the Golden Full Moon Maple or Acer shirasawanum ‘Aureum’. This native of Japan is a sturdy tree hardy to Zone 5 with very bright yellow new foliage in spring. The new leaves look soft and delicate. As they mature, the leaves will develop a rich golden yellow tone and in some climates, may actually sunburn just a little. Planting the tree where it will receive some protection from hot afternoon sun is a good idea. As autumn arrives, the yellow leaves begin to transform into bright golden yellow then orange and finally a blend of intense reds. The show is spectacular and can last for several weeks. I noticed this morning that mine is just showing the first signs of turning.

Autumm foliage colors
Autumn foliage colors

Ordinarily my focus is on my conifers, but this time of year I am easily distracted by the explosion of color provided by my collection of Japanese Maples. I have a feeling, I’ll be sharing more of these with you in the coming weeks

Ed-
Conifer Lover

Leave a Reply

