Happy New Year

First off, I have to say that I know the snow event we are coming out of here in the pacific northwest is really nothing compared to what others are enduring in other parts of the country. For us though, this was the biggest snow we’ve had in a long, long time. People are comparing it to the winter of 1968.

The first wave of snow - Iseli Nusery
The first wave of snow

I was a young fella then, and I do remember enjoying that snow to its fullest! Now, forty years later, and with a different perspective on things, I don’t enjoy it quite as much as I did back then.

The second wave of snow
The second wave of snow

In 1968, I wasn’t concerned about pipes freezing or digging the car and driveway out for two days, or what effect the weight of the snow might have on my garden. No, in those days it was more about finding the best hill to sled down, or waiting for the snow to get to the right stickiness to make great snowballs and snowmen.

Two big snowfalls divided by a layer of ice.
Two big snowfalls divided by a layer of ice.

Now don’t misunderstand me, I love the snow and how it blankets the garden. In fact, I’ve included a few photos from my own garden and some from my friends at Iseli Nursery.

Conifers and other exciting garden plants under a blanket of snow.
Conifers and other exciting garden plants under a blanket of snow.

I hope you all have a safe and enjoyable New Year celebration and may we all find peace and prosperity in 2009!

Ed-
Conifer Lover

Leave a Reply

