Wisdom from the past

I recently had an opportunity to spend a few hours at the public library. I’ve had a desire to catch up on my reading since the weather has been cooler and I’ve been spending more time enjoying my garden from the warmth of my chair near the wood stove.

While at the library, I thought I’d try to find some books on historic American gardens or gardeners. In my search, I was drawn to a book about gardening in colonial times which then lead me to a book full of quotations by Thomas Jefferson. Mr. Jefferson is not only famous for his writing the Declaration of Independence and political career, but also for his agricultural knowledge and practices.

A beautiful blanket of snow
A beautiful blanket of snow

Here are just a few of the quotes by Thomas Jefferson that I thought I’d share with you today:

”No occupation is so delightful to me as the culture of the earth and no culture comparable to that of the garden.”

“Cultivators of the earth are the most virtuous and independent citizens.”

“I am an old man, but a young gardener.”

That last one really hit home with me! Even though I have been gardening for over 30 years, I’ve found that I still have a great deal to learn

Hang in there, Spring is only 67 days away.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

Leave a Reply

