Super Dwarfs

Have you ever found yourself becoming drowsy in front of your computer monitor? Last night I was up later than normal looking at pictures of amazing new dwarf and miniature conifers. Before I knew it, I entered into that spacey state of mind that is not quite sleep and not quite awake.

While I was in that space, I began to dream of a garden filled with perfectly shaped dwarf conifers. As the dream began, the conifers were all planted normally in a garden setting; plump round ones and conically shaped ones; green, blue and yellowed colored ones; even spreading and prostrate conifers, all in a wonderful endless garden.

Then, as dreams often do, things started to become rather unusual. Those dwarf and miniature conifers seemed to sprout little arms and faces began to appear in their foliage. And then things got really weird; little red capes began to flow in the breeze and these super dwarfs began to fly around the garden. In my dream I began to chuckle as I watched and then I was laughing out loud.

I awoke as my wife touched my shoulder and asked me what was so funny.

Super dwarfs in a container
Super dwarfs in a container

Today, as I reflect on that strange little dream, I can’t help but think about some of the “super dwarfs” in my garden – the ones that are totally reliable and hardy year after year.

Next time I’ll compose a list of some truly super miniature and dwarf conifers. This list will include plants that the beginning conifer enthusiast should be successful finding in their local fine garden centers and also prove to be trouble free in the novice conifer garden. (Experienced cone heads will love them too!)

Until then, I’ll be living the dream.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

6 thoughts on “Super Dwarfs

  1. Hi Laura – First off, let me tell you that most all of the photos on my blog are from the gardens at Iseli Nursery, this one included. That being said, I’ll be happy to name the plants in the container for you.

    First the tallest plant in the mix is Juniperus communis ‘Miniature’. Ilex crenata ‘Dwarf Pagoda’ is the tiny leaved, evergreen broadleaf plant on the left side of the frame. Moving right, we have Chamaecyparis pisifera ‘White Pygmy’ followed by Pinus mugo ‘Donna’s Mini’ which appears to have the almost black-leaved, grass-like foliage of Ophiopogon planiscapus ‘Nigrescens’ growing up through it. The beautiful yellow of Juniperus horizontalis ‘Mother Lode’ is spilling over the front edge of the container. And then a Sempervivum species adds the finish to this design.

    Like

  2. I only wish I had not waited until my 83rd year to start!! (last year) now I have to catch up,and having a grand time doing it.(need to win the lotto as well!! LOL ) The miniatures and dwarfs are wonderful..of course I have also started trying my hand at bonsai..really enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

