Dr. Seuss, the Grinch and me

My wife talked me into purchasing some of the new LED Christmas lights to display on the conifers in our front garden. I was happy to oblige since I really like the idea of the reduced energy costs these super efficient lights should provide.

So, I’m up on a ladder, making an attempt to decorate my maturing Weeping Giant Redwood (Sequoiadendron giganteum ‘Pendulum’), and I notice that cars are slowing down to have a look at what’s going on. As they slow down, I can see fingers pointing and smiles and then they speed off. The first couple of cars I didn’t give much attention to, but then the third, fourth, fifth… I began to become a little concerned – was my fly open?

Sequoiadendron giganteum 'Pendulum'
Three Sequoiadendron giganteum 'Pendulum' at the Oregon Garden

Finally, one car actually came to a complete stop and the passenger jumped out to take a picture. I must have had an inquisitive expression on my face because the driver’s window slid down and he shouted, “Nice Grinch trees!” and gave me a thumbs up.

I had to think about that for a moment. I didn’t remember any trees being associated with the Grinch, so I concluded that he must have meant, “Dr. Seuss trees,” as perhaps seen in the Grinch story. Just about then, I must have reached too far to my right, the three legged ladder began to tip over and I grabbed hard onto the eighteen foot tree I was working on. Somehow I managed to regain my balance and using my left foot, I pulled the ladder back to solid ground where I was able to position myself securely in place. I looked around, a little red in the face, and was relieved that no one was driving by at that moment.

I decided that particular tree’s lighting display was finished and I carefully tiptoed back down the steps of the ladder and found a safe place to sit down and wipe my face of the debris it picked up while I was in my tight embrace with the tree.

As I sat there, I looked up at my “Grinch tree” and had a little chuckle as I thought of some of the Dr. Seuss characters I’ve seen precariously balanced on similar looking tree’s of that author’s imagination. Now I was a little disappointed that no one was there to see my impromptu “performance art” interpretation of one of those scenes.

May I encourage all of you to be particularly careful this holiday season so that you might enjoy many more years of gardening with conifers!

Ed-
Conifer Lover

3 thoughts on “Dr. Seuss, the Grinch and me

  1. I think it is absolutely priceless,how much more fun than traditional.I am madly in love with Conifers..wish I had not waited until I am near 84! am concentrating on miniatures..or dwarfs..sure is a lot to figure out,what is what..but I like to know,at least the family..Do take care when up trees,I enjoy your writing very much…

    Like

    1. Carole, thank you so much for your very kind words! I am so glad that you have discovered the joy of miniature and dwarf conifers – they are truly so much fun to grow. By the way, my lovely wife has limited my ladder usage these days. ;^)

      Like

Leave a Reply

