Foggy garden

Back in December, when the days were nearing their shortest of the year, we were experiencing a wave of dark, foggy, drizzly weather that made the days seem even shorter. One morning it was more challenging than normal to motivate myself to get the old joints moving and rise out of bed. It was one of those mornings when I just wanted to pull the covers over my head and remain in the pleasant land of my dream world. But, thanks to my lovely wife, I found myself without any blankets and her gentle words of encouragement.

“You better get up or you’re going to be late for your meeting!”

I was running a little late and yet it was still dark outside. I dragged myself out of bed and I was heading straight to my morning tea when I was distracted by my curiosity of what was happening weather-wise, so I drifted over to our large family room window and pulled the curtains open.

Yup, dark and dreary – must have hot tea.

The foggy conifer garden
The foggy conifer garden

As my wife and I sat enjoying our toast and tea, the sun (such that it was) began to give some light to the garden. It was one of those days when the fog is so thick that it collects on every branch, twig and bit of evergreen foliage causing dewy droplets to delicately hang before they would, drip, drip, drop. As the daylight became brighter (which, believe me, is a relative term here) I became encouraged by how beautiful the garden appeared in the fog.

I looked over at my wife, and she seemed to be noticing the same thing.

“We have such a beautiful garden; I can’t imagine what we would be looking at right now if it wasn’t full of your conifers.”

She was right. Our garden full of conifers and other evergreen plants were accented with the beautiful silhouettes of Japanese Maples, which in the fog, gave the garden a visual depth that I don’t think either of us had appreciated before. There was something magical about the foggy garden.

Our conifers provided us with an amazing (almost surreal looking) landscape full of interesting textures, forms, colors and contrasts, that in their absence on this foggy morning, I probably would never have opened the curtains at all.

Our conifer garden brings us a tremendous amount of joy all year long, though in just six or eight weeks we will see a new season of spectacular color as the conifers and other exciting plants begin to explode in their springtime glory. In the meantime, we can enjoy all that the conifer garden has to offer in the winter while we sip our morning tea and enjoy the amazing beauty of conifers.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

2 thoughts on “Foggy garden

  1. Hello Ed,
    I’m reading your posts with a lot of pleasure every time. I live in Romania and for several years I have discovered and started enjoying the beauty and vast variety of conifer world. Could you tell me, please, what cultivar is the bright golden plant in the back of the photo?
    Thank you.
    Best regards,
    Catalin

    Like

Leave a Reply

