The enchantment of conifers

Sometimes I almost feel guilty.

It’s almost like I am a pusher of some kind of a nefarious substance that causes almost immediate addiction. Fortunately, the love of conifers that I share is perhaps more of an intense adoration rather than addiction, and gardening is certainly a lifestyle that promotes goodness rather than evil.

Cryptomeria japonica 'Vilmoriniana'
On the slower growing end of the Dwarf range, Cryptomeria japonica 'Vilmoriniana' is an excellent choice for the zone 6 garden.

I have to admit, I absolutely love it when I meet someone who has had the veil lifted from their eyes and they begin to see the amazing allure of conifers for the first time. Before long, they are asking a ton of questions, spending countless hours gazing at the vast assortment of ornamental conifers in various books, magazines or the internet.

Picea glauca 'Blue Planet'
Picea glauca 'Blue Planet' is a perfect miniature for the rock garden, railway garden or in all kinds of containers.

I recently met a young man whose addiction adoration of conifers began in his early teen years. His enthusiasm is very encouraging and reminds me just a little of a much younger me. Then there is my good friend the Flower Girl as I like to call her. Somewhat of a hippy at heart, she is definitely beginning to see the tremendous year-round appeal of conifers. I’ve seen in an online conifer forum where several different folks, very new to conifers, have spent countless hours and dollars to transform their gardens from “ho-hum” to “WOW” in just a short few seasons.

Picea pungens 'St. Mary's Broom'
Beautiful and hardy, Picea pungens 'St. Mary's Broom' is a colorful dwarf that will enhance any garden with year-round color.

I find it difficult to convey in the few words of a blog what it is about dwarf conifers in particular, that seems to entice otherwise “normal” people to become consumed with this truly magical group of plants. All I can do is attempt to prepare you for both the intense joy of gardening with conifers and the possibility of their life-changing effects.

But really, what could be better than to begin to change the world, one gardener at a time?

Ed-
Conifer Lover

6 thoughts on “The enchantment of conifers

  1. What else comes in so many shapes, sizes, colors, textures, and is always there year-round? Not to mention tough as nails.

    Like

  2. Hello, I want to redo my yard, I live in zone 9, I have a few conifers now, but would love to have many more. All dwarf
    If possible. I have 3 blue atlas, 1 dwarf
    Deordoria, 1 prodstrate pine. Several
    Bosnia Hollywood junipers. Could you recommend more? And where I could require them.
    I would be so grateful!!!
    Sincerely, vadie

    Like

    1. Vadie, I apologize for my very tardy reply.

      As far as recommending more conifers for your garden, all I can say is that everything I have written in my blog over these past 9 years is a recommendation! I suggest you join the American Conifer Society and make connections with other experienced conifer gardeners in your area as they will have all kinds of recommendations of plants that grow well in your specific climate. You might also try visiting you local independent garden centers. Those folks are plant lovers, like yourself, and will be happy to help guide you in your quest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

