The cloud parade

My wife and I have really been enjoying this extended sun break (it’s been over a week since we’ve seen any rain and we’ve had a few days in the 90s). Sunday afternoon we found ourselves lying in the lawn, head to head, gazing up into the sky which was beginning to produce a parade of puffy, cotton ball clouds – the kind that morph into all kinds of shapes right before your eyes.

“That one looks like a mamma duck followed by a couple of ducklings.”

“Looks like a row of dwarf conifers from my perspective.”

“Oooo… That one has a puppy face!”

“I think it’s more like a mounding hemlock.”

“Don’t you think of anything but conifers?”

“Yes…” (But this is a family friendly blog.)

Pinus strobus 'Louie' points to a "cotton ball" dragon.
Pinus strobus 'Louie' points to a "cotton ball" dragon.

As we reclined there on one of the last remaining patches of cool green grass in my garden, I couldn’t help but think about conifers. We were surrounded by them. I was enthralled viewing them from this unique perspective. The larger conically shaped trees seemed to point up into the parade route that the clouds were taking as if to point the way; their silhouettes were stunning against the deep blue sky. The intermediate sized conifers, in an assortment of shapes, sizes, colors and textures also looked new and exciting viewing them from this ground level point of view.

Remembering an old classic science fiction film, The Incredible Shrinking Man, I began to wonder what it would be like to be only a few inches tall in my garden. I decided that should I ever befall such a fate as the main character in the movie, I would have my wife make a small shelter and place it in the miniatures section of my rock garden.

My mind continued to wander as I heard my wife say, “Now THAT one is definitely a Teddy bear!” and looking at it, I had to agree.

Summer had finally arrived. While many of our neighbors are busy mowing and watering their huge lawns and dead-heading their flower gardens, we are enjoying the peace and quiet of our low-maintenance conifers.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

Leave a Reply

