A tasty crystalline crust

Brrrr…. Our normally mild Pacific Northwest weather has turned foggy and frosty. It is unusual that we have a good little frost like the one this morning, although frost and fog make for a very pleasant stroll through the conifer garden.

When I first peeked out between the curtains, the sun had yet to lend much light to that morning hour. By the time we enjoyed our morning tea and I stoked up and added wood to the fire, I could see that we were immersed in a rather thick fog, which was just beginning to brighten enough for me to note a dandy little frost had added a tasty crystalline crust to all my plants.

Winter in the Conifer Garden
Winter in the Conifer Garden is as inviting as any other season.

Winter can be a very pretty season in the conifer garden. While many of my friend’s gardens, with this sudden frost, have been reduced to many piles of spent-perennial brown mush with the occasional bare-twigged shrub along with an evergreen or two, my conifer garden is full of visual brilliance composed of varying shades of blue, green, gold, mauve and orange. Color, of course, is simply one part of the winter conifer garden equation, and looking out upon my garden, I see all of the wonderful shapes and forms from very large, towering trees, to smaller and more compact broad pyramids, to slender fastigiate forms and conical shapes. Also to be found are an assortment of colors and textures, along with weeping plants (both deciduous and evergreen) and spreading ground-huggers. The conifer garden is as much a thrill to encounter today, as any in summertime.

Winter in the Conifer Garden
Winter shows off the structure of Japanese Maples resting in the conifer garden, while the conifers provide color, structure and texture.

The crisp air was unrelenting against my exposed skin causing my morning walk to be quite brisk. My discoveries were too great to be bothered by the cold as I marveled at the patterns of the frost clinging to and heaving from all of the plants in my garden. I loved the way the frost encircled the small branches of my Japanese Maples as if they had been dipped in glue and rolled in diamond dust. Even in the dim, fog-diffused morning light, the frost caught a glimmer that managed to give off a little sparkle here and there. Winter’s magic was at work.

Winter in the Conifer Garden
Sequoiadendron giganteum ‘Barabits Requiem’ stands as a sentry in the frosty conifer garden.

May your winter garden be filled with conifers, and other exciting plants, to delight your eyes and draw you out for more morning walks – if not this year, then in years to come.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

18 thoughts on “A tasty crystalline crust

  1. wow, that is gorgeous! We had a light snow last night that clung to the trees, so pretty, but has already melted. My new little conifers are weathering their first winter, so happy I planted them, but yours is so much prettier! Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures.

    Like

  2. I am an amateur home gardener and have recently applied to become a Master Gardener.
    I have been admiring conifers for years, and recently joined the American Conifer Society.
    For a long time, I have loved conifers since watching my grandfather plant them everywhere 55
    years ago as a little girl. Seeing these beautiful photographs is the catalyst for me. I must become knowledgeable about them, and welcome suggestions about ways other than trial and error to learn and develop conifer expertise. Thank you everyone and Happy Holidays. Jane

    Like

  3. It’s fun to see the conifers I’ve been putting in my perrenial beds suddenly taking center stage as the other plants have faded to a memory in my northern Indiana beds. They are doing just as I wished giving me another season of intrest which was up till now lacking. I am looking forward to watching them grow and continue to entertain and amuse me. Thanks for all the good advise and views to inspire my allready growing addiction to plants and conifers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

