Dreaming of spring

In my corner of the Pacific Northwest, we have enjoyed some of the most pleasing spring-like weather for several days in a row – which seems terribly unfair since I know many of my friends are in a wintry deep-freeze right now. Today I thought I would share some beautiful spring-time garden photos hopefully easing the winter blues some of you may be struggling with and to inspire all of us to get out into our gardens as soon as weather permits. In my case, the weather forecasters see an end to our pleasant, sunny days and a return to our cold, gray rain – which suits me just fine, it is only February after all. Who knows, we may even see snow showers mixed with our rain in the local area throughout the month of March keeping us in winter dormancy a little longer!

This Acer palmatum ‘Orange Dream’ is an early one to leaf out and is among the first to announce that spring is here! I expect to see a site like this by early April.
Even before their new growth in the spring, the dwarf conifers in the Jean Iseli Memorial Garden are vibrant and full of life. You can see leaves just beginning to emerge on the tall Laceleaf Japanese Maples in the background.
By late April or early May, the garden is really coming to life! Conifers are showing new growth, maples have leafed out, flowers are full of color – the spring air smells so goooood!
Lush new growth on the spring-time conifers is so fresh and colorful – The Jean Iseli Memorial Garden is inspirational!
By early June, all the plants in the garden are lush, and just being in their presence evokes feelings of peace and happiness.
Ahhhh… spring-time, with all its warmth and new life – it really is something to look forward to this time of year!

Hang on folks – especially my friends in the current deep freeze which is covering so much of the North American continent – spring really is coming!

Ed-
Conifer Lover

6 thoughts on “Dreaming of spring

    1. Yes, lots of little flowers popping their heads out of the ground around here. I suspect we will be paying for our “early spring” with a couple of months of cold, constant rain…. but that should also get some snow in the mountains, which would be nice!

      Like

  1. Thanks for the look into the future, I can’t hardly wait! It was 10 below when I went to work today, which includes a lot of snow blowing and outdoor time! Did Iseli do another calendar this year? I hope you move has subsided to the memory an learning (past ) faze.

    Like

  2. Love the site Ed. I’m relatively new to conifers, and just starting collecting. I have around 30 japanese maples, all relatively small, and just got about 10 miniature conifers to start with. I was writing you to ask what would be some relatively good landscape specimens for me to use in Maryland? I was looking at Skylands spruce and Burkes red variegated, but I’m not sure how they would do around here. Thanks, look forward to the next blog.

    Like

    1. Hi Derek – Thank you for your comments! I am not personally familiar with the environmental conditions in Maryland, but I can offer a couple of suggestions to get you pointed in the right direction. First is to know the USDA Zone you are in as that will help you narrow your search for plants that are winter hardy in your area. Second, I suggest that you check out the American Conifer Society. You will find being a member will open opportunities for you to get to know conifer lovers in your local area. Third, have a look at the Conifer forum at The Garden Web (links to both resources in the menu). There are helpful folks there with knowledge and experience from all over the USA (and beyond). Also, get to know the local independent garden center folks, they can be very helpful and knowledgeable as to what grows well in your area. Now, all that being said, I believe both of the specimens you mention should be very good choices.

      Like

Leave a Reply

