Dancing in the wind

With all the attention given to the State of Alaska recently, I’ve been reminded about a great conifer that can add the appearance of a large forest tree in a relatively small footprint. Chamaecyparis nootkatensis ‘Jubilee’ is one in a family of Weeping Alaskan Cedars that should be considered for use in smaller gardens. This excellent and hardy tree will actually grow quite tall with primarily a narrow habit as side branches will tend to weep and fall toward the ground. Occasional branches will grow horizontally with weeping branchlets appearing as the fringe draping off the arms of a frontiersman’s leather jacket.

Chamaecyparis nootkatensis Jubilee
Chamaecyparis nootkatensis ‘Jubilee’

If an extremely narrow form is desired, horizontal branches can be pruned to create a very narrow spire growing tall and dancing in the wind. With the “arms” left intact, and in a strong breeze, ‘Jubilee’ reminds me of those huge dancing air tubes you see some retailers use to attract attention.

‘Jubilee’ certainly attracts attention in my garden without looking out of place.

Ed

Conifer Lover

3 thoughts on “Dancing in the wind

  1. Ed, really digging these weeping, pendulous conifers. Sadly, none of the local nurseries (even the wholesale ones) offer them…just the usual Emerald Green arborvitae and Leyland Cypress. Could you point me in the direction of some sort of listing of growers where I could go and get one? Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi Rudy – I would think that any of your local fine garden centers would be willing and able to special order plants for you. Remind me of your location – I’ll check my connections.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.