Brighten up with the blues

Our day or two of snow seems long gone now having been followed by nearly ten days of rain. I almost feel like a bear emerging from a season of hibernation when the weather improves and I can get outside to inspect my garden. The local weather guru is hinting at a warmer and dryer spell over the next 10 days, so I plan to spend as much time as I can cleaning up fallen debris from the big Douglas Firs (Pseudotsuga menziesii) and European White Birch (Betula pendula) that surround my property. In the process, I am excited to see many of the bulbs sending up their first leaves – a definite sign that spring is not far away!

As the weather warms up, and the earliest bulbs have finished their show, many of my conifers will begin to brighten the garden with their push of new growth. The vibrant colors of conifers in the springtime are a sight to behold. Of all the colors that the conifer garden will display in spring, I am really enamored with the blues. I’ve mentioned my passion for dwarf blue spruce in the past, but the color is so impressive and exciting that it’s worth another look! I think that you just cannot have too much blue in the garden!

Picea pungens ‘Procumbens’ is one blue conifer that offers much to be excited about. ‘Procumbens’ is an excellent ground cover that can be used in a variety of ways in the garden. Naturally, it will grow nearly prostrate in form as its blue foliage mounds and undulates along the ground and over rock walls. It can be propagated as a high graft or staked to give it some height allowing it to create a very free-flowing form before it reaches the ground appearing as a small water fall in the landscape. Its new flush of soft bright blue foliage makes it stand out however it might be used in the garden.

Picea pungens 'Procumbens'
Picea pungens 'Procumbens'

I love it planted in the rockery and allowed to tumble and fall amongst the rocks and other dwarf conifers. ‘Procumbens’ is a versatile plant that is so easy to maintain, it responds well to manipulation and once acclimated to its space in the garden it is essentially care-free.

‘Procumbens’ brings true enjoyment to the gardener and always garners favorable comments from plant enthusiast and novice alike. It’s only one of the blues that will brighten up my garden this spring.

Ed-
Conifer Lover

Thanks to Iseli for the photo link.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.